Point System in Florida

St. Petersburg Traffic Offense Attorney

The following is a list of traffic related offenses in Florida for which points will be assessed in the event of a conviction:

Texting While Driving

No penalty on first offense. Two points are added to the primary offense if texting in a school zone and six are added if the texting offense resulted in a crash: 3 Points
Unlawful Speed (15 mph or less over the lawful or posted speed) 3 Points
Unlawful Speed (16 MPH or more over the lawful or posted speed) 4 Points
Unlawful Speed resulting in a crash 6 Points
Leaving the Scene of a Crash resulting in property damage more than $50.00 6 Points
Reckless Driving 4 Points
Any moving violation resulting in a crash 4 Points
Passing a stopped school bus 4 Points
Violation of traffic control device 4 Points
All other moving violations 3 Points
Violation of curfew 3 Points
Open container as an operator 3 Points
Child restraint violation 3 Points

It should be noted that the fine for exceeding the speed limit by more than 50 MPH is $1,000.00 for the first offense and $2,500.00 for the second.

Fines are doubled when infractions occur within a school zone or construction zone, with possible civil penalties up to $1,000.00 and the person can be required ti complete a driving school course.

The driver receives the same number of points listed if the conviction occurs out of state or in a federal court.

What is the length of suspension?

  • If 12 points are assessed with a 12 month period, then the period of suspension is 30 days.
  • If 18 points are assessed within an 18 month period, then the period of suspension is 3 months.
  • If 24 points are assessed within a 36 month period, then the period of suspension is 1 year.

Are points assessed for a red light camera infraction?

No. Local and state governments are authorized by law to use traffic infraction detectors to enforce red light violations. It includes the use of traffic infraction enforcement officers, the mailing of an initial notice of violation within 30 days of the offense and mailing a traffic citation within 60 days if payment has not been received. The red light light violation does not result in points being placed on the driver's record.

If I get a ticket in another state, will I receive points on my Florida driving record?

Yes, if the out of state violation is an offense that would earn points if committed in Florida. For example, if you are cited for traveling 14 miles an hour or more over the posted limit in another state, you will earn 3 points in Florida no matter how many points are assessed under the other state's laws.

Can I attend driving school on an out of state ticket?

No. Florida driver's are not eligible to attend driving school on out of state tickets.

Can I elect to attend traffic school after I have already paid the ticket?

No. The election to attend traffic school must be made when you pay the ticket. When you receive a ticket, you have the following options:

  1. Pay the ticket. This means you are admitting guilt and the corresponding number of points will be added to your driving record;
  2. Elect to attend driver improvement school and bring the certificate of completion back to court as proof of attendance; or
  3. Go to court.

Are there any special points provisions for minors?

Yes. Any driver under the age of 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12 month period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for business purposes only. If additional points are accumulated the restriction is extended for 90 days for every additional point received.

If you have been issued a traffic ticket in St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Tampa, or a surrounding area, contact The Kilfin Law Firm, P.C. to discuss the circumstances of your case and what options are available to you.